Rachel kadish

 

“A gifted writer, astonishingly adept at nuance, narration, and the politics of passion.” 

-- Toni Morrison on From a Sealed Room


“I am taken by the poignancy of its voice—by its evocative imagery, too.  I hope it reaches many homes and many hearts.”

Elie Wiesel on From a Sealed Room

Photo credit Enrico Spada

FORTHCOMING IN JUNE 2017 FROM HOUGHTON MIFFLIN HARCOURT, THE WEIGHT OF INK

An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt’s Possession and Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book



Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. 

 

As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents’ scribe, the elusive “Aleph.” 

  

Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order reconcile the life of the heart and mind.  


PRE-ORDER NOW!